1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

802. Bryter Layter – Nick Drake (200th Post)

This is my 200th post, so here are some stats for you:

My ratings for this 100.

5: 16

4.5: 17

4: 16

3.5: 13

3: 11

2.5: 8

2: 5

1.5: 4

1: 3

.5: 2

0: 4

Total over all 200.

5: 32

4.5: 25

4: 42

3.5: 26

3: 29

2.5: 12

2: 11

1.5: 7

1: 6

.5: 5

0: 4

 

Most Albums on the list:

7 for The Beatles

5 for The Byrds

4 for Dylan, The Rolling Stones, The Kinks and Miles Davis

Albums by year (If I’ve tagged correctly):

1970: 15 (so far)

1969: 36 (I was surprised there were only five more than 1968, it certainly felt like 15+)

1968: 31

1967: 28

Genres:

Folk and Rock tied at 22 each

Soul at 17

Country at 15

 

…And now for our feature presentation:

Brief Background: Bryter Layter was recorded in London during 1970 and released the same year.

What I think: In a rather ironic way, this seems like an appropriate album for my 200th post as there isn’t really a lot to me said about it. In this case that isn’t a bad thing. It’s a very beautiful album throughout, especially “Northern Sky”  which is certainly one of the saddest sounding and pretty songs I’ve ever heard. The genius of this album is they way it gets your mind working in very gentle ways. I found my mind wandering and reminiscing to the past in ways I don’t often do. That was really nice, and it takes a special kind of music to open up some of those pathways and memories. I also felt that this was a whole album with no clunkers on it, where I felt Five Leaves Left was sort of up and down.

 

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? 1970 was certainly a folky kind of year and this belongs right up a the top with any of the others that were released that year. I especially think this is important to the book as not as many people are familiar with his work (though it’s probably better than in the past, it’s interesting that the reviews in the Wiki page are all from the 2000’s and not at the time of the albums release).

Rating (Out of 5): 4.5

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (155/200)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
