1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

818. Cosmo’s Factory – Creedence Clearwater Revival

Original album is tracks 1-11

Brief Background: Cosmo’s Factory was recorded throughout the end of 1969 and the beginning of 1970. It was released in July of 1970 (finally done with 1969! There have probably been about 50 albums from that year alone.)  Of the 11 tracks on the album 6 were released as singles.

What I think: As this is one of my favorite albums, I’ve been looking forward to this review for a long time. I’m going to do what I rarely do and chronicle it track by track.

1. “Ramble Tamble”: It’s a great rock track with a great riff and sweet jam in the middle of the song. I actually always thought this was a cover, but it was written by Fogerty.

2. “Before You Accuse Me”: This is a Bo Diddly cover with another great riff. I love the way Fogerty rounds off syllables in his vocals.

3. “Travelin’ Band”: This song is the definition of intense. It gets going right off the bat with horns and a “737 comin’ out…” and continues at break next speed for the next two minutes. Just try to stay still while it’s on…

4. “Ooby Dooby”: A fun nonsense song that is probably the weakest link on this great album. Even the Roy Orbison version doesn’t do much for me.

5. “Lookin’ Out My Back Door”: A fun and energetic song about life at home and the magic just outside the door. I love the innocence of it.

6. “Run Through The Jungle”: A dark brooding piece. Fogerty has said it isn’t about Vietnam, but it’s hard to not think of what those boys went through when listening to it.

7. “Up Around the Bend”: Another fast moving song that tests “Travelin’ Band” in tempo. Similarly it is also about moving up the road. The riff and the “doo doo do do”‘s in the end are perfection.

8. “My Baby Left Me”: Another cover, and one I always underestimate until it comes on. It’s a great version of a great song.

9. “Who’ll Stop the Rain”: Another dark song. I love Doug Clifford’s drums on this one. Simple rolls, but perfect. His drumming on everything is amazing. I just love the sound. It almost sounds like he’s playing on a toy kit, I can see the toms bouncing around as he pounds on them. I always picture the band on an outdoor stage with the sun streaming through the clouds after a quick summer down pour.

10. “I Heard it Through the Grapevine”: If you were to ask me what my favorite instrumental track is, I would tell you it is this. I forget there are vocals throughout almost half of this eleven minute track, because the second half instrumental part is completely AMAZING. I could listen to this song over and over. I will even put off finishing a task until it is complete. I love how the guitar and drums (sweet fills and slammed cymbals) work together.

11. “Long as I Can See the Light”: This is one of my favorite ever album closer’s. It’s the perfect low key song about coming home. Fogerty’s vocals…. the piano…. that saxophone… the high hat through out. I love it.

…. and I just adore the album. The fact that any casual music listener is probably familiar with at least half the tracks makes it important. The fact that it puts me on a emotional roller coaster every time I listen to it makes it one of the best.

 

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? For Sure… top ten album for me.

Rating (Out of 5): 5

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (42/184)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2015 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
