1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

833. Happy Sad – Tim Buckley

 

Brief Background:  Happy Sad was recorded in December of 1968 and released in June of 1969.

What I think: If you recall, I REALLY did not like Goodbye and Hello, and I subsequently ripped into it unlike any other album I’ve reviewed. In turn, I wasn’t expecting to like anything on this album. Fortunately, there are a lot of difference here and the lyrics and singing style adhere more to the singer/songwriter style that I would have expected from the previous album. This is especially true on the first two songs “Strange Feelin” and “Buzzin’ Fly” which have very powerful vocals from Buckley and which I really enjoyed. Things do get a little less traditional as the album goes along, but since it wasn’t  psychedelic songs about kings and castles was even able to enjoy it at times. The song that most conflicted me on this album is “Gypsy Woman”. I really love the instrumentation and the way it is sung, but really can’t relate to a Gypsy woman in any way, so the lyrics are lost on me.  All and All,  with this album I can see why Buckley is such a legendary figure.

 

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? Yes this should be here and I actually hope we have a couple more albums from him in the coming years. Still, I cannot forgive Buckley for the pile that is Goodbye and Hello.

Rating (Out of 5): 3.5

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (128/169)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 76%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
