1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

838. The Band – The Band

Original Album is tracks 1-12

Brief Background:  The Band was recorded through the first half of 1969 and was released in September of the same year.

What I think:  I’ve never been able to get into Music From Big Pink and I expected the same from this album. Oddly enough, I really loved this album. To me the sound of the album is similar to Big Pink and the composition of the songs isn’t very different either, I just inexplicably enjoyed this album so much more. The one thing I can think is the lyrics which are a throwback to the American past, but I think Big Pink has some of that too. It’s a great mix of jammy rock with soul, country and folk.

You have the singles “Rag Mama Rag”, “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down” and “Up On Cripple Creek” which are all wonderful songs, but everything else here is golden as well. I can’t wait for the summer to put this on some humid evening with a campfire going and a beer in my hand.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I really enjoyed it, I think it’s awesome and I hope it’s a good anchor to start an enjoyment of The Band.

Rating (Out of 5): 4.5

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (125/164)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 76%

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
