1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

843. Dusty in Memphis – Dusty Springfield

 Original album is tracks 1-11.

Brief Background:  Dusty in Memphis was recorded in September of 1968. The instrumental tracks (for which Springfield was present) were recorded at American Sound Studios in Memphis, but Springfield’s actual vocals were recorded in NYC. The album was released in March of 1969.

What I think:  I’ve been waiting for this album since highlighting her debut album last spring. While it is not as soulful as I had hoped for an album titled …in Memphis, it is still very good. The lack of soul in spots really has nothing to do with Springfield, but more with the instrumental backings. I would expect an album full of Memphis horns, but instead we get too many tracks with string arraignments. Of those songs with the great horn parts are the obviously stellar “Son of a Preacher Man” and the sad “I Can’t do it on My Own”. My favorite track on the album is the lonely, but raving “Don’t forget About Me”. Oh, and speaking of not forgetting, don’t forget that this women with all this soul is from the UK, something not as rare these days, but pretty uncommon for her time.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? No doubt that this should be here, there is a reason it’s an iconic album.

Rating (Out of 5): 4

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (120/159)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 75%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 18, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.
