1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

846. Basket of Light – Pentangle

 

Brief Background: Basket of Light was recorded in London and released in October of 1969.

What I think: I love when an album or artist I’ve never heard of appears on this list and I then get to dig into it knowing nothing about the music. This is one of those cases, and while this isn’t something I’d listen to again, it was definitely worth the spin. I actually really liked the folky, rhythmic music. It had a hypnotic vibe to it and I would often find myself daydreaming of something else entirely. I’m not as much of a fan of the vocals, although I did enjoy the female parts to the male parts. Oddly enough, my favorite track on the album is “Lyke-Wake-Dirge” which has some very Christian vocals.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I don’t know about this one. On one hand it was an interesting listen, on the other, it is pretty obscure. I’ll give it the benefit of the doubt and say to leave it.

Rating (Out of 5): 3

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album?Yes (118/156)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 75%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 14, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Something tells me he enjoys this.

Top Clicks

  • None
