1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

850. A Christmas Gift For You from Phil Spector- Various Artists

 

Brief Background: A Christmas Gift for You from Phil Spector  (originally released as A Christmas Gift for You from Philles Records) was recorded in late 1963 and released in time for Christmas in that year. The record sold fairly poorly upon its original release, but became an iconic album when it was re-released on Apple Records in 1972.

What I think: This album came up in June and I postponed it until this time of the year, so I’ve been waiting on it for a while. In the end it has left me with mixed feelings. On one hand you have some amazing songs from Darlene Love (that includes my favorite X-mas song ever in “Baby Please Come Home”), as well as some very good songs from The Crystals and Bob B. Soxx. The negative here comes from The Ronettes songs. They just seem unexcited and mailed in. I normally really enjoy the passion of The Ronettes songs and so this really surprised me. The upside is that this really makes for a stellar second half of the album as The Ronettes songs are all on the first.

Also, I’m also not completely sold on Spector’s Wall of Sound production on this album, as it sounds sort of muddy to me. Now this may be the version I’m listening to, but I have no way of knowing.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? All in all, I think the highs outweigh the lows by quite a bit and makes this one of the best Christmas albums of all time. This is also the first album on this project to consist of various artists and think it makes a good representation of that.

Rating (Out of 5): 4

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album?Yes (114/152)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 75%

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
