1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

858. Trout Mask Replica – Captain Beefheart

Brief Background: Trout Mask Replica was recorded in August of 1968 and March of 1969, it was released in June of 1969. The album, produced by Frank Zappa, was extensivelly rehearsed and all of the instrumental parts (two hours in length) were recorded in a six hour studio session.

What I think: I’ve been dreading this album coming up in this list, because knew I was going to get a 2x long version of Safe As Milk. But something funny happened between reviewing that album and getting to this one. I really didn’t hate it! I don’t know why, but I’m guessing it’s that I’ve been listening to post 1983 Tom Waits and also reviewed a Dr. John album. That makes it so this isn’t quite as weird to me as it would have been had I listened to it even eight months ago. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not going to listen to it again, but I understand it a bit. Beefheart’s lyrics are rather interesting and at times so is the music. It’s all sort of a rock and blues version of Thelonious Monk with a surprising amount of fart jokes.  Take a listen if you feel adventurous…

 

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I think it has to be here. Any album that has a reputation that precedes itself in such a way needs to be here.

Rating (Out of 5): 2

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 3.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (112/144)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!
