1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

860. We’re Only in it for the Money – The Mothers of Invention

Brief Background: We’re Only in it for the Money was recorded throughout 1967 and was released in March of 1968. Many changes to the album were made by the record company after it was submitted by Zappa. This include cutting words and verses from songs as well as putting the intended album cover (a parody of Sgt. Pepper) on the inside of the fold.

What I think: I can that I sort of enjoyed parts of this album, which makes it much better than Freak Out! . Most of the songs are short which is nice when you encounter so much noise and non-sense. The album also heavily satirizes the Hippie movement and psychedelic music which is always something I can get behind. So, in the end, it’s an album I thought would be excruciating to get through, but ended up being a fairly good piece of satire.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I really have some mixed feelings about this being on the list. It is a topical and relevant piece that illuminates the absurdity of the time, but much is just noise that seems un-inventive. I also question the lasting value of an album based on shock and surprise.

Rating (Out of 5): 2

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (110/142)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
