1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

869. Music from Big Pink – The Band

Brief Background: Music from Big Pink was recorded in early 1968 and released on July 1 of the same year. The album gets its name from the nickname of the house band members rented in upstate New York during the period these songs were being written. They also jammed on demos with Bob Dylan which would eventually become the infamous Basement Tapes. Dylan wrote the final track on the album and co-wrote two others. In addition he did the cover artwork for the album as well.

What I think: The Band has everything I love in a group of musicians, there is a bit of country and Americana, a really loose jammy rock feel, folk, and Southern R&B and Soul. They are the ultimate sound I would look for in a band. Unfortunately, and almost inexplicably I don’t like them. I just can’t get into their music, and I’ve tried and tried and tried. So all I can really say about this album is that it’s perfect, but not for me. It’s one of the weirdest sentiments I’ve ever had and I am so disappointed that I feel this way. I’m sorry!

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? This album has without a doubt influenced almost every band or musician I’ve listened to in my adult life and it should without a doubt be in this book.

Rating (Out of 5): 2.5

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (27/133)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 80%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 24, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Something tells me he enjoys this.

Top Clicks

  • None
