1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

870. Ogdens’ Nut Gone Flake – Small Faces

Brief Background: Ogden’s Nut Gone Flake was recorded in lat 1967 and released in May of 1968. The album title is a parody of a brand of tobacco produced in Liverpool. The packaging for the album was initially a circular metal tin, but proved to be too expensive.

What I think: The first six songs on the album (side one) are all really interesting, but nothing is all that exceptional, if they randomly came on I wouldn’t skip past them. . Side two is a suite of six songs titled “Happiness Stan” and they focus on Stan looking for the other side of the moon he sees is missing from the sky (not that I got this from listening to it, but from Wikipedia!). Parts of each track are narrated by Stanley Unwin. Unwin will begin telling a comprehensible story which then devolves into periods of nonsense. It really messes with your head, because your brain expects to be able to keep processing and it can’t. So that is really cool and kind of humorous. The music on these parts is similar to the other side, it’s interesting, but not spectacular in any way.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? It’s pretty original and the album definitely stands out, I’m not sure the music is all that good though. I’m really on the fence over this one.

Rating (Out of 5): 2.5

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (106/132)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 80%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 22, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
