1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

887. Os Mutantes – Os Mutantes

Wow, my first post in ten days! I don’t think I’ve yet to take that long between albums. I do have a good reason though. I got to see The Replacements on Saturday and wanted to go through their albums in order and Tweet about my past and current favorite songs. That’s done now, so I’m back here….

Brief Background: Os Mutantes was recorded in December of 1967 and January of 1968. It was subsequently released in June of 1968. The word Os Mutantes is Portuguese for The Mutants.

What I think: This is certainly one of the most interesting of all the albums I’ve chronicled so far in this project. I’ve have tried really hard to come up with a fitting genre for the music, so here goes. Let’s call this psychedelic-etherial-pop-rock. You can really hear the bands influences in the ablum as well, ecspecially with The Beatles. Not only does the album have a really circusy feel (similar to portions of Sgt. Pepper), but the guitar playing, soloing and sound come directly from George Harrison. There is also a very pop feel to the album that I would attribute to the sound of The Turtles, but I’m not convinced if I’m correct in that one. Finally, you have the huge influence of what I’ve learned is called the Tropicália movement in Brazil.

The songs themselves are very strange, the first track “Panis Et Circenses” for example winds down mid-way through only to start up again seconds later in a completely different manner. “Senhor F” has multiple fade outs and fade ins at the end that make you wonder when it will stop. All of this experimentation would usually turn me off, but they do it without losing the pop elements and the hooks and that really keeps me interested.

 

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I do agree that this should be here…. I’m suprised that I like it, but it is really good!

Rating (Out of 5): 4

Amazon Review (Out of 5):5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (92/115)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 80%

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
