1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

888. Don’t Come Home A Drinkin’ – Loretta Lynn

Capture

 

Brief Background: Don’t Come Home a Drinkin’  was released in 1967 and is Lynn’s seventh studio album. The title track became her first number one song on the Country Charts and the album was the first by a female country musician to sell 500,000 copies.

What I think: Before we get to the actual album, we have a bit of a back story for this one: This is the first album I haven’t bee able to find digitally. No Rdio, No Spotify, No Youtube, No Itunes or Amazon music. I actually had to order it online and wait for it to come in the mail.

Thankfully, I was pretty sure I was going to like it. I think the title track is my favorite country song ever, and everything else I’ve heard from Lynn has been almost as good. As expected the album didn’t let me down. The songs vary from country ballads (“I Really Don’t Want to No” almost sounds like something Etta would do) to faster songs which tend to relate to the the devil or the church. Besides the title track, my favorites here are “The Devil Gets His Dues” and “I Got Caught”.

 

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to?I do, it’s a classic piece of Country music. It’s really a shame it isn’t available for a digital audience.

Rating (Out of 5): 5

Amazon Review (Out of 5):N/A

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (91/114)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 80%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 7, 2014 by and tagged , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
