1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

889. The Sounds of India – Ravi Shankar

 

Brief Background: Sounds of India was released in 1968 and is approximately Shankar’s 20th release. This album is notable for it’s first four minute track that teaches the listener about the differences between Indian songs. There are also short intros to each of the four performances before they start.

What I think: After hearing Call of the Valley a couple of weeks ago, I was excited to hear what Shankar had in store. Unfortunately, he just isn’t enjoyable to me. While Call of the Valley had shorter tracks and brought some Western elements into the music, The Sounds of India is (from what I can gather) pure Indian music. The songs are all ten to fifteen minutes long and sound really repetitive to me.

My first thought was that I would think the same thing about a fifteen minute song on an acoustic guitar, and thus gave it some leeway. The more I thought about it though the more I realized that, I wouldn’t enjoy that either. To me, tracks two, three and four are the equivalent of somebody strumming away on a guitar for ten plus minutes and on track five that person got around to showing off a little and noodling away. On top of that take what is essentially a variation of bongos in the background and you have the equivalent of a Hippie bonfire jam. I don’t mean to be insensitive to the music and culture, but in order to blog about this,  I need to put this into boxes I can understand and this box makes a lot of sense to me.

 

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I wish I would have liked it more, but I know it was influential to many others so I’ll give it a pass.

Rating (Out of 5): 1

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (90/113)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 80%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.
