1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

893. Beggars Banquet – The Rolling Stones

Brief Background:  Beggars Banquet was recorded in mid-1968 and released in December of that year. The album was delayed by a battle with the record company over the cover of the album, a battle that the Stones lost. This was also the last album with input from Brian Jones which was minimal even here.

What I think: Here we are now in 1968 and the psychedelic B.S. has been shed. The Stones moved forward from that psychedelic clutter of Their Satanic Majesties Request to make this album, which started the best period of their careers in which they would release four or five of the best albums ever. So let’s get started on Beggars Banquet, one that I hadn’t heard before this. It’s an understatement to say that I was pleasantly surprised by how great this album is.

Everybody knows “Sympahty for the Devil” (that scratchy guitar solo is like nothing I’ve ever heard!) and “Street Fighting Man”, which are amazing songs on their own and I was expecting this record to resemble the sounds of those. The thing is, the rest of the album sounds nothing like them. Everything else here is a sort of country and blues hybrid that is absolutely amazing (and somehow different than their sound down the road). There is a perfect mix of experience and youth on this record and  I recommend you listen to the whole album, but if you just sample one track check out “Jigsaw Puzzle”, which comes in at a close second for being my favorite Stones song (#1? “Tumbling Dice” of course!)

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I certainly do agree and this one is going into my regular rotation, how did I listen to all of the albums they put out after this one, but not Beggars Banquet?

Rating (Out of 5): 5

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (86/109)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 79%

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
