1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

894. White Light / White Heat – The Velvet Underground

Brief Background: White Light/ White Heat was recorded in September of 1967 and released in 1968. This album came after the group’s partnership with both Andy Warhol and Nico had deteriorated leaving them both out of the project.

What I think: I had given this album a try in the past, but hadn’t really gotten into it much. It seems so much darker than their first album, and that had turned me off. This time though something clicked and I enjoyed it quite a bit. The album has only seven song with “White Light/White Heat” and “Here She Comes Now” being the only really straight forward and non-experimental tracks. “The Gift” features John Cale reciting a story in the left speaker while and instrumental track plays in the right. It’s not the most accessible song, but it’s a fun listen and you can feel the influence on later art rock and punk songs emanating from it. The other notable song on the album is the super fuzz distorted “Sister Ray” in which John Cale’s organ is even distorted. The whole seventeen plus minute epic is a great burst of noise and debauchery.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I do, as I mentioned it never clicked with me before but the influence on other artists is just dripping off the album.

Rating (Out of 5): 4

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (23/108)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 22, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
