1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

896. The Electric Prunes – The Electric Prunes


Brief Background: The Electric Prunes is the debut album from the band and was recorded and released in 1967.

What I think: I was really excited to listen to this album as I’ve heard mumbling about it over the years, but in the end I’m sort of disappointed. It’s not that it’s bad or hard to listen to, it just didn’t really make an impression on me. I think this is an album that could benefit from a couple listens (the real downfall in how I’m doing this project). Some takeaways I did have are the extensive use of tremolo guitar to achieve much of the desired psychedelic effect. Along with some heavier garage rock sounds in songs like “Try Me On For Size” definitely show this album as an influence on punk. In fact “Are You Loving Me More” sounds like it may have been a huge influence on the new wave sounds a decade later.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? Like I wrote above, this album didn’t make much of an impression on me the first time through, but I’m playing it again as I’m writing this post and it sounds much better to me. I think it belongs here and I think I could come to like it very much if I give it the time.

Rating (Out of 5): 3

Amazon Review (Out of 5):5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (84/106)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 79%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2014 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
