1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

902. Groovin – The Young Rascals (100th Post!)


First Things First: This is my 100th album! Ten percent done in nine months. That means at this pace it will take me about 7.5 years total to complete this project. I initially estimated about ten, so that’s not too bad.

I have previously heard 78% of the albums I have featured, and would like that number to be about 75%. I don’t know why it matters to me, but it does. The interesting part about listening to new records (whether for this project or not) is that I have the narrative for this blog in my head. It’s really helped me to figure out what I like or don’t like about a song or record. My favorite surprises so far have been Frank Sinatra’s Songs for Swinging Lovers, James Brown Live at the Apollo and The Sonics’ Here are the Sonics. I would like to thank you for reading this blog! I’ve tried to do the same with a couple of similar blogs and it isn’t easy.

My Ratings (number of each)

5: 16

4.5: 8

4: 26

3.5: 13

3: 18

2.5: 4

2: 6

1.5: 3

1: 3

.5: 3  (Buck Owens, Zappa, Buckley)

Most Albums on the list:

5 for The Beatles

4 for Dylan

3 for The Byrds and Frank Sinatra

Now to the Real album:

Brief Background: Groovin’ was recorded from the end of 1966 to the middle of 1967 and was released in July of 1967. This is the last album to be credited to The Young Rascals, from this point on they would go by simply The Rascals.

What I think: This is a great mix of pop-rock and blue eyed soul, with just a smattering of psychedelia mixed in. It’s hard to pick favorities, as everything sort of has the same great sound without getting old. I think “A Girl Like You” and “Groovin'” are my two favorite on the album. The latter being the most relaxing song ever until “Easy” came out for the Commodores ten years later.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? This is a great achievement in blue eyed soul, I have no qualms about it being here.

Rating (Out of 5): 4

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (78/100)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 6, 2014 by and tagged , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
