1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

903. Younger Than Yesterday – The Byrds

 Original album is tracks 1-11

Brief Background: Younger Than Yesterday was recorded towards the end of 1966 and released in February of 1967. The album is different than their previous three in that bassist Chris Hillman is the sole writer of four of the songs. He previously had only one c0-writing credit on a previous album.

What I think: After the disappointing Fifth Dimension, this is a really nice bounce-back for The Byrds. The most interesting element of this album is the variety of rock-styles contained within. There is a sound reminiscent of their first two albums in “Thoughts and Words”(which sounds like it could have been on Revolver) and the amazing cover of Dylan’s “My Back Pages” (Oh how I love this song! I could leave it on repeat for hours). There is psychedelia on “C.T.A.-102” and “Mind Gardens”(really the only dud on the album). Most importantly there is a move towards the country sounds they would progress towards on their next couple of albums in “Time Between” and “The Girl with No Name”.  The last song I want to mention is “Have You Seen Her Face” which is a straight up early sixties sounding rock song that reminds me of The Beatles version of “Twist and Shout”.

 

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? There is no question from me whether this should be here. A great mix of sounds and a psychedelic album that doesn’t feel saturated in experimentation.

Rating (Out of 5): 4

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (77/99)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

One comment on “903. Younger Than Yesterday – The Byrds

  1. Pingback: 901. Surrealistic Pillow – Jefferson Airplane | 1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
