1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

906. The Velvet Underground and Nico – The Velvet Underground

Tracks 1-11 are the original album

Brief Background: The Velvet Underground and Nico was recorded in the middle of 1966 and finally released in March of 1967. The album faced extended delays mostly due to the cover art, which featured a sticker of a banana peel over a flesh covered banana. At the time of its release, the album was a commercial failure and mostly went critically unnoticed as well.

What I think: Throughout the years I’ve listened to this album and it has always failed to click. In the last couple I’ve really gotten into Loaded and this was the first time listening to this album since then… and it finally Clicked!  I really love the tenderness in Reed’s vocals in “Sunday Morning”, Nico’s vocals are stellar in “Femme Fatale” and the backing vocals are even more amazing! “Run Run Run” could have been a hit song in an alternate universe. On the other side you have the gritty songs about the other side of life in “I’m Waiting for the Man”, Venus in Furs”, and “Heroin” which contrast the fuzzy feeling I get from the former songs (and I’m not saying they are happy and light, just that way the lyrics are  put forth in sort of a soft way). In the end, I could do without “Black Angel’s Death Song” and “European Son” as they are just too experimental for me. I’m trying to think of something I listened to which is close to  “European Son” with its 4 minutes of feedback and noise. The song that comes to mind is “Drown” from the Smashing Pumpkins, which devolves into a couple minutes of feedback…. while the beginning is a great song the ending never did much for me.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I do agree that this should be here, this album pretty much influenced every musician I listened to who put out and album after say 1975. From Punk on everybody was influenced by this….

Rating (Out of 5): 4.0

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (21/96)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!
