1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

910. Forever Changes – Love


Brief Background: Forever Changes was recorded during various sessions from June through September of 1967 and released in November of the same year. Although, most of the tracks were recorded by the actual band two of them featured backing studio musicians.

What I think: This album is leaps and bounds better than Da Capo. The lyrics are much improved and the instrumentation has a great feel.  The sound is a really interesting combo of soul, rock and folk with strings parts and/or horns added to most songs. The horns are particularly interesting, as they are really soft and flowing at times, but at others are similar to the Memphis soul sound. The album does have a dressing of psychedelia on it, but unlike albums like Goodbye and Hello, it’s not bathed in it. My favorite track here is “Alone Again Or” which has a some really beautiful instrumentation backed with heartbreaking lyrics. I also really like the loud/soloing guitar parts that come in on “A House is Not a Motel” and “Live and Let Live” and wish they would have utilized that aspect a little more.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I think this is a really good album, with a great vibe. There is something missing in it for me though, that keeps me from completely embracing it. I do think it should be here, but my initial opinion is that it’s not something I’d regularly listen to.

Rating (Out of 5): 3.5

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes(72/92)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Something tells me he enjoys this.

Top Clicks

  • None
