1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

918. Buffalo Springfield Again – Buffalo Springfield

Brief Background: Again was recorded and released in 1967. The album had a sporadic recording period as Neil Young was often gone for the sessions. The album also features two experimental songs done by Young that were meant for a solo release, and only feature session musicians (“Expecting to Fly” and “Broken Arrow”).

What I think: This is an interesting album in that I’m having trouble getting a feel for it or coming up with words to summarize it. It mostly has folk rock feel of what would later become Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young. The best songs in this vein are “Bluebird” and “Hung Upside Down” (Which is probably my favorite on the album)  written by Steven Stills. The Richie Furay songs have a soul feel to them.  The Neil Young songs on the album are interesting, because they are headed in a different direction. “Mr. Soul” has a bit harder sound, “Expecting to Fly” is really orchestrated and “Broken Arrow” is sort of a multi-part opera piece. So all in all this album doesn’t feel really cohesive, but it still works and is still enjoyable.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I like that album and all, but as an all-time record I don’t think it should be here. It just feels to pieced together to me monumental.

Rating (Out of 5):4

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (65/84)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 77%

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
