1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

922. Chelsea Girl – Nico

Brief Background: Chelsea Girl was recorded in April of 1967 and released in October of the same year. The album was written my the members of the Velvet Underground, along with a young Jackson Browne. In addition, “I’ll Keep It with Mine” was penned by Bob Dylan. This is Nico’s first solo album and was recorded following the release of The Velvet Underground and Nico album (It surprises me that Chelsea Girls comes before that one in the book). Nico was unhappy with the results of the album as the flute and string parts were added without her knowledge.

What I think:When the songs are straight forward pop instead of avant-garde and droning, this can be a really enjoyable album. And this is despite the fact that she wasn’t a very proficient singer (I have the worst ear ever, and I can hear he go out of tune). She has the honor of first recording Browne’s “These Days” and does a good job with it. Dylan’s “I’ll Keep It with Mine” and Browne’s “Somewhere There’s a Feather” are also good. When she gets into the drone and flat sounding “It Was a Pleasure Then”, “Chelsea Girls” and “Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams” is when she loses me.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I enjoyed the album, but I question her credibility as a singer. If Lindsey Lohan had hung out with the right group of artists, would we look at her the same was as a singer?  No, Well, we shouldn’t do the same then for Nico.

Rating (Out of 5):3

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.0

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (62/80)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 78%

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
