1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

935. Blonde on Blonde – Bob Dylan

 

Brief Background: Blonde on Blonde was recorded through the end of 1965 and into the early months of 1966. Blonde on Blonde was released in mid 1966 and was the first double album to be issued (non-compilations aside).

What I think: I think I’ve listened to Blonde on Blonde before, but I don’t recall much of the music so I’m going to come at this as being my first time hearing it. What an album it is! In my opinion it starts of a little off kilter with “Rainy Day Women”(It’s one of Dylan’s most popular, but it doesn’t sound like the rest of the album. Plus the whole “Everybody Must Get Stoned” debate that puts a shadow over this wonderful album. Come on, is Dylan going to me that obvious?)  and “Pledging my Time”.  It really takes off from there with “Visions of Johanna” and  “One of Us Must Know”, which are both wonderful pieces of music and some of the best of Dylan’s career.  On side two, you have one of my favorite Dylan tunes, “Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again”. I love the way he draws out the chorus “Stuuuuuuck Insiiiiiide….”.  From there to the end the songs remain stellar with stand-outs being “Just Like a Woman” and Absolutely Sweet Marie”. The album ends with “Sad Eyed Lady of the Lowlands”, which is a wonderful 11 and 1/2 minute song that took up the entire side four of the original album.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I really like this album and would say that with songs with subjects primarily related to relationships that it is Dylan’s most accessible album to this point (and maybe ever? I’m not not versed enough with his whole catalog to make that claim though). The vibe of “The Band” on back-up is amazing. This is the first time in this project that I felt as though an album had a counterpart, but I really had a really strong urge to listen to Astral Weeks after this, so off I go….

Rating (Out of 5): 4.5

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (49/67)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 73%

One comment on “935. Blonde on Blonde – Bob Dylan

  1. Thom Hickey
    May 29, 2014

    Thanks B ON B is great album with wonderful swirling sound. Will check out your archive. You may enjoy Dylan posts on the immortal jukebox. Regards … Thom

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2014 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Something tells me he enjoys this.
