1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

939. My Generation – The Who


Brief Background: My Generation was recorded as a whole in late 1965 after the singles “I Can’t Explain” and “Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere” charted in the UK. The band sort of dismissed the album as misrepresenting them and their live show by time it was released at the end of 1965. Side Note: I didn’t realize The Who only have ten full-length albums under their name over a period of fifty years.

What I think: This album really has me torn. When I put it on, I was expecting an album of rebellion similar to the song “My Generation”, what I got was an album consisting of a lot of blues,  R&B covers, and mostly poppy sounding originals. This is fine, but it had been done before and a lot better by other musicians. After giving the album another listen and  more consideration, my view is somewhat more positive. They really do look back (with the covers)  and forward in other ways with this album. “My Generation” is possibly the best piece of teenage rebellion ever recorded. Kieth Moon’s insanity on the drums would inspire generations to come, and “The Ox” is really an update of “Wipeout” which was still at least two years ahead of its time. Most interesting in “The Ox” is the really distorted guitar and the feedback which is still being used to this day.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? While the whole album isn’t revolutionary, there a pieces of brilliance, a few views into the future of rock music, and the influence the band would have on lyricists, guitarists and drummers in the decades to come.

Rating (Out of 5): 3

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (47/63)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 75%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 8, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
