1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

944. Live at the Regal – B.B. King


Brief Background: Live at the Regal was recorded in November of 1964 in Chicago and released in 1965. The album has been lauded as one of the best blues albums ever and is part of the Library of Congress’ National Recording Registry.

What I think:This is an interesting album that brings out some mixed feelings in me. I really don’t care for the style the backing band employes for the first three tracks of the album. They use a very jazz style that just ruins the songs for me. I quickly listened to the same tracks on other live albums and they are done in a similar way. I see jazz and blues as two completely different styles and hearing them together really bothers me. That being said, as the album progresses things become more aggressive and the horns and rhythm second move to a harder sound. “How Blue Can You Get?” actually starts in this jazzy sort of manner and moves to a screaming climax and along with the anger of “You Done Lost Your Good Thing Now” are probably the best two tracks on the record.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I was really disappointing by the way the record began, but as it progressed, I’m glad I stuck with it. I really enjoyed seven of the ten songs here and think this album should be included in this list.

 

Rating (Out of 5): 3.5

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (44/58)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 76%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
