1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

949. Bringing It All Back Home – Bob Dylan

 

Brief Background: Bringing It All Back Home was recorded over three days in January of 1965 and released in March of that year. Side A of the Album is electric and Side B is acoustic, signifying Dylan’s movement further away from the folk community. Dylan along with the band he cobbled together for the album were able to record most of the songs in a couple of takes.

What I think: I really like this album, and even though I said that Freewheelin’ was my favorite Dylan album, I would say this is a pretty close contender. I really like the way he sings on the electric portion, his voice just seems to be lighter (that doesn’t mean less serious) than with the acoustic songs. “She Belongs to Me” is one of the most beautiful songs I’ve ever heard, and “Love Minus Zero/ No Limit” is up there as well. “On The Road Again” has some of Dylan’s quirky humor, “115th Dream” is surreal nonsense. There are six songs here that I haven’t even mentioned yet, that are some of Dylan’s most revered songs…. I’ll leave it that way.

Overall Thoughts: It’s an amazing album and looking at the track listing makes it hard to believe this is all on one album. Most artists would be happy to have a greatest hits collection that looks like this. That being said, it’s not quite perfect as “Outlaw Blues” and “Gates Of Eden” don’t do much for me.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I do agree this should be here, I think this is Dylan at his prime… at the same time so many artists were at their own all gaining inspiration from, and competing with each other.

 

Rating (Out of 5): 4.5

Amazon Review (Out of 5):5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (11/53)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 79%

3 comments on “949. Bringing It All Back Home – Bob Dylan

  1. tomgeorgearts
    April 16, 2014

    I beg to differ about Gates of Eden!! it is just blissful!! it goes on and on, unfurling like a scroll of strange wisdom…i haven’t a CLUE what it means but I don’t care. Yes, a great album, and like Highway 61 and Blonde on Blonde, absolutely full of mistakes. You can certainly tell they weren’t rehearsed, but it doesn’t matter…the ragged, ramshackle looseness is absolutely what makes it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2014 by and tagged , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
