1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

967. Green Onions – Booker T. and The MG’s

Brief Background: Green Onions is the first album to released by Stax records on their own (The Mar-Keys and Carla Thomas were labeled as Stax, but were actually Atlantic releases.) The album was recorded in the middle of 1962 and was released on October of that year. The album peaked at number 33 on the Billboard Album Charts. The group was also inter-racial, which was almost unheard of in the height of the Civil Rights era of 1962, not to mention Memphis, Tennessee in 1962.  I recommend you check out the Stax story and how these partnerships ended with the assassination of MLK jr. in 1968.

What I liked:  The sounds of Booker T. and The MG’s is my favorite sound of anything I’ve ever heard and love everything they’ve done on their own and as the house band for most Stax recordings. Booker T.’s organ playing is unrivaled. I love Steve Cropper’s guitar playing; it is just so smooth and cool. The way he sort of solo’s with such a clean sound is amazing. Drummer Al Jackson Jr. is steady and has such a great jazz mixed with soul sound that is wonderful. This album is probably their best on and starts on a roll with “Green Onions”, “Rinky Dink” (my personal favorite), “I Got a Woman” and just goes from there.  This is a rare album that is both exciting and soothing at the same time.

What I Didn’t Like:  If I have to put down something…. Instrumental albums in general to me get sort of long by the end and I guess this is no exception.

 My Overall Thoughts: It’s one of my favorite groups ever, playing their best album… it doesn’t get much better than this.  (Also, if you like this album, check out the Mar-Keys albums that came before. They feature Steve Cropper on guitar and Donald “Duck” Dunn on bass.)

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I whole-heartedly agree that this should be here. This group would go on to write and perform some of the best music of the coming decade!

Rating (Out of 5): 5

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? No (6/35)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 82%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 5, 2014 by and tagged , , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
