1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

969. Sunday at the Village Vanguard – The Bill Evans Trio

Brief Background: Sunday at the Village Vanguard was recorded over five sessions in June of 1961 and released that same year. The remaining tracks from the sessions were also released in 1961 as Waltz for Debby.

What I liked: I was really taken by surprise with this album. My initial thoughts were, “Oh no, not another jazz album”, but I certainly enjoyed it. As you would expect from a trio, the performance is really basic (fundamental?) with Evans on piano, Scott Lafaro on bass and Paul Motian on drums. It is the playing of Lafaro on bass, that really sets this album apart from anything else I’ve ever heard. Nearly every song features a bass solo which is really cool and something I’ve never heard before (This would also be Lafaro’s last recording as he passed away from a car accident 10 days later). The solos bring such a unique (at least to me) element to this album and I was really surprised how much I enjoyed them. The album is the best on “Gloria’s Step”, “My Man’s Gone Now” and “Alice and Wonderland”.

What I Didn’t Like: Nothing really sticks out, as far as a jazz album goes, this is probably the style I have enjoyed the most.

 My Overall Thoughts: I’m not going to seek out the album, but if any of the songs come up on an iTunes, or Rdio station I won’t skip past them.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? The unique nature of Lafaro’s playing makes this an album that should be here. The simplicity of the performance adds to its staying power.

Rating (Out of 5): 3.5

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (28/33)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 85%

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2014 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
