1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

972. A Date With The Everly Brothers- The Everly Brothers

Brief Background: Recorded an released in 1960, A Date with the Everly Brothers was recorded in four July sessions and went to number nine on the Billboard Pop Charts.  This is the Everly’s fourth full length album.

What I liked: Side two of this album is where it shines. The songs cross over that line from country to more of a rock vibe. Their version of “Love Hurts” (the first recorded version of the song), and Little Richard’s “Lucille” are great. “A Change of Heart” and “Cathy’s Clown” are also really nice standouts.

What I Didn’t Like: It’s not that I disliked side one, I just wasn’t really feeling it. Underwhelmed me a little bit.

 My Overall Thoughts: I was REALLY looking forward to this album and was just sort of uninspired by it. In fact it took me a week from listening to it to blog about it. I’ve not waited that long on an album yet. I wanted to say more about it, and I wanted to love it. In the end I’m just disappointed to be disappointed by it.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I would have picked another Everly album here instead. Maybe Songs Our Daddy Taught Us perhaps? It’s good, but there are no doubt better.

Rating (Out of 5): 3.5

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (25/30)

Percentage of Albums that are new to me: 83%

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
