1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

985. Lady in Satin – Billie Holiday

Brief Background: Lady in Satin was recorded and released in 1958 and would be the last of her albums to be released while she was still alive.

What I liked: Holiday‘s voice had weakened considerably at this point, but the unsteadiness and warble in it is still really nice. I also love the sparse arrangements  as they make album have a really dreamy feel. “For Heaven’s Sake” and “You’ve Changed” are my favorites on the album.

What I Didn’t Like: As the album goes on, the slow dreaminess does sort of get repetitive.

My Overall Thoughts: It was a good listen, but I think I would focus more on her earlier recordings, than this one.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I’m sort of torn about this one, but I do think the whole of the album on it’s own is great and I think they were right to include it.

Rating (Out of 5): 4

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (16/17)

One comment on “985. Lady in Satin – Billie Holiday

  1. huffmanm
    January 4, 2014

    Would love to find a VG+ of this. I recently got into vinyl and am completing my collection of her early 50s work. Absolutely gorgeous albulm. Please visit my blog. I will be updating it daily and would love to get a group of like-minded vinyl lovers like me together who appreciate the history of these rare pieces!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 26, 2013 by and tagged .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
