1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

986. Dance Mania – Tito Puente

Brief Background: Dance Mania was recorded in 1957 and released in 1958. It features Latin jazz and Afro-Cuban music that Puente was instrumental in making popular.

What I liked: The album is full of fun dance music that has more swing than either the Machito or the Martinez album. It’s an interesting listen, if only for it’s significance of getting couples of the fifties away from sitting in front of the television.

What I Didn’t Like: Like all of the Latin Jazz albums I’ve posted about thus far (Are we done with them yet? please!) they just don’t do much for me. I suppose that’s the thing about a dance craze though, when you are in the craze or went through it, it probably seems very important.

My Overall Thoughts: I didn’t mind listening to it the one time through, but I would go past the songs if they ever come up again. Puente’s sound is unfortunately what gets ripped off when restaurants like Chili’s are promoting their new fajitas and so it’s sort of reminiscent of that. This, is of course, no fault of Puente’s.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I know Tito Puente, I know he had a lot of influence in the Latin dance craze and has had a lasting legacy. As his most famous album, I’m ok with this being included. That being said this could have easily been the one album to represent Afro-Cuban and Latin Jazz music.

Rating (Out of 5): 3

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (15/16)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 23, 2013 by and tagged , , , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Something tells me he enjoys this.

Top Clicks

  • None
