1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

987. Kenya – Machito

Brief Background: Recorded in 1957 the album is notable for it’s influence on Afro-Cuban and Latin Jazz.

What I liked: This album is similar to the Sabu Martinez album I posted about last week. This album is more rounded out though with horns and is closer to a “traditional” sounding big band jazz. The songs are energetic, short and fun to listen to.

What I Didn’t Like: Nothing in particular, it was good, but not great.

My Overall Thoughts: This is a difficult album to write about, it really doesn’t inspire me to love or hate it.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? For the same reason that Palo Congo should not be included, this should not be in the book either. It is missing that influence on pop culture that is a must for any album in a list like this.

Rating (Out of 5): 3

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (14/15)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 20, 2013 by and tagged , , .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Something tells me he enjoys this.
