1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

990. Palo Congo – Sabu Martinez

Brief Background: Wikipedia or “1001 Albums” don’t offer much in the way of background on the recording, except to offer that it was recorded and released in 1957. “Sabu” was a member of many of the big jazz bands of the era and became a band leader in 1957. This is his first album and he went on to release two more during his career.

What I liked:  The guitar (which was rarely present) had a nice sound and it was sort ofnice as hypnotic background music.

What I Didn’t Like It’s conga music, which I heard enough of from the drum circles my hippie neighbors used to have when they lived next door.

My Overall Thoughts: Come on! There has to be better than this!

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? Absolutely not! I’m not the most worldly of people, but I’ve never heard of this as an influence on anybody so I can’t even justify it for that. At least with Brilliant Corners there were a lot of subsequent musicians who took a lot from it. Also, for an album to be included in this list it should have moved at least a little bit into popular culture…. this album isn’t/wasn’t even close to that.

Rating (Out of 5): 1

Amazon Review (Out of 5):4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (11/12)

2 comments on “990. Palo Congo – Sabu Martinez

  1. Pingback: 987. Kenya – Machito | 1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

  2. julienboeker
    July 26, 2014

    Hi,

    I given myself the same task you have (listening through that list) and I am listening to that album right now.

    I must say that I have to agree with you, I also can´t really like this album. (When the fuck will it stop allready?)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 11, 2013 by and tagged .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Today I started new position as an Academic Librarian at Normandale Community College. Half of my time will be spent on reference and the other half on classroom instruction.  I'm very excited to utilize the skills I have, but more importantly learn a zillion new things about librarianship!

Top Clicks

  • None
