1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

993. The Atomic Mr. Basie – Count Basie

Brief Background: Recorded in 1957 and released in 1958 the album is also known as E=Mc2. The album was remastered and re-released as The Complete Atomic Basie (tracks 1-11 are the original release.) Personnel for the recording lists four trumpet players, three trombone players and 5 reeds players.

What I liked: I really enjoyed the short, but standard pop length of the 3 or 4 minute songs.  The band is definitely solid and the horn parts are some of my favorite that I’ve heard. My favorite tracks of the bunch are “After Supper”, which is a nice sleepy piece (hence the title), “Flight of the Foo Birds” which is an energetic rave-up, and “Midnight Blue” which starts off slow and builds to a great climax.

What I Didn’t Like: There isn’t much here that I didn’t like, if anything  my interest waned towards the end, but that could just be a product of not hearing the whole album in one sitting.

My Overall Thoughts: I don’t know if it is fair to compare this to the Louis Prima album, but that is where my mind kept going while listening. It just made the swinging jazz on that album feel like amateur hour. It definitely makes me excited that there are jazz albums out there for me and maybe I just haven’t found the right ones until now.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I agree with the writers, I love the skill of the band and the energy they put forward on the recording.

Rating (Out of 5): 4/5

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (9/9)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 27, 2013 by .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
