1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

995. Songs for Swingin’ Lovers! – Frank Sinatra

Brief Background: Recorded mostly in 1956 and released in March of that year, this is Sinatra’s 10th studio album and the follow up to his comeback In the Wee Small Hours. Decidedly more upbeat than the former, this album is in the spirit of some of his early albums.

What I liked: I really expected to dislike this one. I mean how cliche can you get? Frank Sinatra singing happy, swinging songs?  I expected it to be like a Joe Piscopo impression. I Thought, “This is going to be awful”. I was dead wrong! The album starts strong with “You Make Me Feel So Young” and just keeps going from there. The backing music arranged by Nelson Riddle may  even better than Sinatra’s performance. It’s a lot of happy, bouncy and do I dare say swinging jazz that works perfectly with the vocals.

I loved everything about it…..almost.

What I Didn’t Like: Although, this album rides a line that stays on the good side of absurd the tracks “Pennies From Heaven” and especially “Makin’ Whoopee” veer into territory I just can’t stick up for. As the writer on the album in 1001 albums wrote…, Sinatra seems to be knowingly winking away while singing “Whoopee”. And that winking is just too much for me.

My Overall Thoughts: My top two albums of this project so far have been the Sinatra ones. I never would have thought… but don’t get me wrong, I’m pleasantly surprised.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? Definitely so, this is surely deserving of being an album everyone should hear.

Rating (Out of 5): 5/5

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (7/7)

2 comments on “995. Songs for Swingin’ Lovers! – Frank Sinatra

  1. julienboeker
    July 26, 2014

    I was a bit excited listen to that, after “In the wee small hours” didn´t get me at all but I have to say the worst albums I have listen to for this project so far are Sinatra ones. And maybe that of The louvin brothers.

  2. Pingback: 902. Groovin – The Young Rascals (100th Post!) | 1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2013 by .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
