1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

997. Fats Domino – The Fat Man

Brief Background: Oddly enough, I can’t really find any background. From what I can tell these were all individual singles and their accompanying b-sides.

What I liked: Everything! It’s Fats and it’s hard to go wrong from there. The groove of the band is wonderful. His voice and the drums are both slow and draggy.  The sax player is amazing! Standouts are Blueberry Hill, Blue Monday and Poor Me, but there isn’t a bad song here. I love that I can still hear the blues in these songs at their most basic, but they are so amped up with the full R&B band.

What I Didn’t Like: If I have one complaint, it’s that the whole album seems to be a variation of two songs. They are great songs, and I would probably never tire of them, but nonetheless…

My Overall Thoughts: You can just feel the influence pour out of this album. It’s like this is the blueprint for the E-Street Band live show and Born to Run (the whole album). He is such a great musician, it’s interesting that he while he had hits, none of them were huge blockbusters.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I agree 100%, so much energy, so much fun!

Comments on finding this album: The album Rdio has are all incorrect tracks, so I had to build my own playlist of the songs contained. In a couple of cases I ended up with live tracks that were not part of the original. Nonetheless, I was able to get a feel for the album. The most difficult part about this whole process is going to be making sure I’m hearing the original album. I’ll always base my opinions on the original release and not bonus tracks added later. It’s really unfortunate that everything has been re-issued with additional material and different track listings.

Rating (Out of 5): 5/5

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 1 (Due to version being sold and quality of recording) (Allmusic gives it a 4.5)

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (5/5)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2013 by .

Recent Posts

Goodreads

I woke up like this.

Top Clicks

  • None
