1001 Albums You Must Hear (and Blog about) Before You Die

My attempt to blog all of the entries from the book 1001 Albums to Hear Before You Die

1001. Frank Sinatra – In the Wee Small Hours

 


Brief Background:
The Frank Sinatra Album In the Small Wee Hours is the first up in the list. The album was recorded and released in early 1955. The album is supposedly about his second wife Ava Gardner.

What I liked: I’ve never been a fan of Mr. Sinatra. I’ve never really given him much of a chance either. Since listening to this album, his voice has been stuck in my head almost not stop, which is indeed strange.  This is definitely a great album for a rainy grey day. It’s sad and haunting while still being hopeful. It’s definitely one of those pieces where the singer is pulling from their soul.  In the end, I really wasn’t expecting the cohesiveness of the whole thing, I didn’t think albums were made that way in 1955.

What I Didn’t Like: At first I wasn’t really big on the building strings that are present on each track, but once I was able to get into the album I really started to appreciate and enjoy them being there. In other words there really wasn’t much I didn’t enjoy.

My Overall Thoughts: I’m pleasantly surprised that on the first album I listened to for this project, I found something that I would listen to again and again. I’m even more surprised that the album is from Frank Sinatra. I’m finally able to see what fans loved about him all these years.

Do I agree or disagree with the writers as to this being an album you must listen to? I do agree, it’s sort of remarkable that in this early day of the album, that this is such a cohesive piece. The mood is perfect and it’s so much more than a collection of individual songs.

Rating (Out of 5): 4.5

Amazon Review (Out of 5): 4.5

Is this my first time hearing this album? Yes (1/1)

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 30, 2013 by .

Navigation

Recent Posts

Goodreads

Random day off of work, so spontaneous Twins game.

Top Clicks

  • None
